International travel sometimes makes people prejudiced rather than broad minded. What may be the reasons for this? What can people do to improve their understanding of the countries they visit?

International travel is regarded as one of the finest ways of broadening one’s outlook by understanding the diversity of different places, the people, their culture and lifestyle. On the downside, international travel has also led tourists to become biased and cold instead of receptive and indulgent. One of the primary causes aiding this unwanted outcome is that what is considered sacred in one place may not hold any value for the tourists. In Arab countries, for instance, women are required to wear a burka or unrevealing clothes, and western women, not realizing the importance of being fully clad, may develop an aversion to why women in these countries are not treated the way they are. And vice-versa, a tourist hailing from a reserved background may not identify with the western culture, and feel appalled by the lifestyle of people there through not knowing better. Research prior to the trip can resolve this, or if there is a tour guide or organizer, they must take it upon themselves to educate the tourists about the local values and culture in a way that they understand and empathise rather than look down upon it. Stereotyping is another significant cause of prejudice among tourists. The source of stereotyping is media portrayal of certain countries, places and people which is why tourists have preconceived negative opinions about these places when they arrive. Without really getting to know the local people, a trip may just accentuate these views. Awareness is the only cure to break the stereotypes and for this interaction amongst the local people and the tourists must be rallied by encouraging home stays so that the differences between reality and media portrayal can come to the surface. In conclusion, international tourism does have its problems which can lead to prejudiced views. However, efforts in the right direction can overcome them.