In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

Buying something to fulfill our needs or necessities is what is called shopping. In older times, there was a system called Barton system in which people exchange goods to fulfill their demands but than colonization came and they introduced money in the form of coins, currency, etc to pay when we buy something. In simple words, give and take of material or non material goods is called shopping. If we talk about past times, families and households regard shopping as to fulfill their family needs and to provide food, shelter and other important things so that they can live smoothly and peacefully. There was budgets allotted for food, clothes and other material things, so that they can manage their time and space according to it. For example- if we talk about Indian community, they have separate spaces to store food, clothes which was regarded as supply for whole year. Proof of this is we can still find aluminium trunks and wooden baskets to store goods in village houses. There is book written on Rural life of Punjab, supports this saying. Coming to 21 century, citizens are now more materialistic. They like to spend money on goods they don’t actually need. There is big difference between necessaries and necessities but people like to think it as a one. Now we are more focused on clothes and goods we carry, rather than our personal growth. For example- most of the interviews held these days, when they ask what is your hobbies, most of us say that shopping is one of my hobby, generally women’s. Even in the movies, we can see there is more pressure on how you buy things and how well you are in spending money. Moving to my personal views, I think this is positive trend, because I have felt this as one of the points which hinders your confidence in malls and shopping centers if you are not a smart shopper. If someone is really good at shopping, he or she can save a lot of money using modern buying techniques and can be regarded as person to e should ask before buying something. But I do also oppose this, if we are totally wasting our time on buying things that e don’t need, so be smart but not freak.