In the past, people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the past, people used to commute by public transportation such as buses and trains to their workplaces. While that was true, since the Internet and smartphones were introduced, more and more people starting converting from traditional means to working remotely from home. From my own views, I believe that there are a few advantages and disadvantages to working in your personal space. A positive aspect of working from home is that being facilitated in our own workspace provides proficiency and conveniences which allows us to interact virtually with anyone across the globe in an instant. It proves itself significantly more convenient than traditional methods such as sending letters and traveling directly to meet business prospects. For instance, nowadays we can use the applications of the Internet to make contact with people around the world via emailing, Internet calling apps such as Skype, and instant messaging apps like Telegram to fit our business communicating needs. An additional advantage to be working remotely is that we can save immeasurable amounts of time and money that would have remained taxing on us if we have had many traveling needs. For example, if we needed to have an appointment with some colleagues or business prospects from a country that is very far away for a day or two, a flight would have been very time consuming and costs a ton of money on the way taking some extra expenses into account. But if we were to set up a meeting through group calling applications such as Skype Business or Google Voice, no such time and resources would have been wasted inappropriately. However, one major downside of working remotely from home is that one will have high tendencies to develop concerning mental disorders such as depression from having to adapt to an isolated environment, blocking ourselves away from the outside world. An example is that if a person changes their habit of working in an office where there are always full of people, with many opportunities to socialize in an isolated environment at home, the lack of social interactions such as talking, discussing, and arguing will eventually lead that person into a severe depression which is only a matter of time. Another downside of working at home through the Internet and smart devices is that it kills one's habits to engage in outdoor activities and degrades their social skills. For example, working at home and spending too much time on smart devices can cause addiction and take away one's interest in working out at the local gymnastic center or they can no longer trust in their own communication abilities to ask others for help, discussing a certain topic to the community. Ultimately, there are some advantages and disadvantages of using the Internet and working at home through your electronic smart devices. However, with enough willpower to control and being able to tell your needs from your wants, given the risks of abusing the Internet into account. I do not think that the Internet itself will have control over the user but vice versa.