In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Due to recent developments in the internet connectivity, more people are nowadays encouraged to work from home by their employers while in the past the public had to travel longer distance to get to work. There are both positive and negative aspects to this development. On the one hand, there are many benefits for those who work from home. Firstly, those who work from home have the possibility to spend more time with their family, by this way, the relationship between the family member improves. Secondly, because of the semaless broadband, Wi-Fi connectivity across the world, the employee can choose to work from any part of the world. Due to this, the organizations can extend their recruitment of talents and hire anyone from anywhere in the world and let them to work remotely. Finally, there are no fixed duration for the employee to eat a snack, go for a lunch break and so on. In other words, there will be a lot of flexibility for the workers to enjoy. On the other hand, working remotely comes with quite a few drawbacks. The main problem is working fr prolonged hours. Due to the increased flexibility, people tend to prolong their working hours very frequently. This in turn leads to several health issues like back pain, eye strain and so on. Furthermore, humans are naturally bound to be interactive and social. By working remotely, people lose their chance to meet their colleagues in person. This can sometimes elevate the stress levels of an individual and may lead to mental health issues. Nevertheless, some workers are comfortable to work only in an office enviroment under an in-person supervision of their management. Hence, working alone without any supervision can deter the performance of such employees. Though work from home has become a boon to the employees, it has its own benefits and issues. Organizations that wants their employees to be more productive should always consider the negativities caused by this scheme and take necessary steps to tackle them.