In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is irrefutable that there, nowadays, has been numerous alterations in the way in which we work with the advent of cutting-edge electronic devices, such as computers, the internet as well as smart phones, which make it feasible to keep in contact with other colleagues. However, a number of people still prefer to commute to work in person. There are both benefits and drawbacks of this recent development. To commence with positive aspects of working from home, the major advantage is that it enables employees to enjoy a better work-like balance. This is because workers can work from home, due to the convenient internet, in lieu of travelling to their workplace at the expense of time and energy, which is less stressful. Therefore, it increases their productivity. Additional positive aspect is that working from home provides them with flexibility in their working like. Employees are able to work via the internet regardless of time and place even under severe conditions. The best example is that after the outbreak of the contagious disease, called the COVID-19, people can still continue their work on the internet without problems. Nevertheless, it also has a number of disadvantages. First of all, commuting to work in person can be a sociable avidity which numerous people enjoy. People often alleviate their stress by interacting with others, which also helps improve their social and linguistic skills. Without this social interaction people might feel isolation. Furthermore, workers have difficulty completing their work without colleagues around. In conclusion, even if there are both advantages and drawbacks of working at home, people are still required to expend some time at their workplace due to isolation and occasionally spend time working from home when we are under specific conditions.