In the past, most employed people went to a place of work to do their jobs. These days, more and more people are choosing to work from home what are the reasons for this change? is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, working in remote locations is enjoying an upsurge of popularity instead of choosing to travel to work in the office previously. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is producing a significant impact for each individual and society. To begin with, there are two important reasons why working from home is a common tendency in numerous corporations. First of all, the development of technology provides the effective-working methods for operations. To be more precise, the staff can choose to work in their own place through online platforms as long as their work is complete and leads to a good outcome. For instance, when exposed to these platforms, they can meet or communicate easily with their colleagues to catch up on tasks regularly so as to maintain their work. Consequently, not only can they guarantee work progress but also save a lot of time when commuting to work. Secondly, people have to work remotely as a result of the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic creating a lot of harmful effects on people’s health. It means that citizens need to restrict gathering at the same place and keep a suitable distance in order to limit the spread of virus. As a result, the companies have to enforce the rules of the government about this pandemic. Nevertheless, this trend could have negative consequences in terms of both individuals and society. Firstly, it would reduce the quality of the result due to the fact that people can easily get distracted; one of the contributing factors is the lack of a strong sense of discipline. For example, they would have a tendency to do personal work as they want, such as: watching TV, doing house-work and taking care of their baby at work time. Therefore, they could not work with full concentration which directly affects their results. The second negative development is that it leads to feelings of loneliness. A good example of this is that when you work in remote locations, you would not come into contact with any of your colleagues. On that account, hardly do you strike up friendships. In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why there is an increasing number of workers choosing remote working. As a consequence, there could be negative influences for each person and the society at large; so that they should keep home and work life separate to find the right work- life balance.