In the past, it was unusual for most people to change careers more than once or twice. Now it is quite common for people to have had ten or more different jobs in their lifetimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a change?

In the past generations, it is perceived that staying on one job for a really long time would be the ultimate source of job security and also merits a hefty retirement plan for the loyal employee. However, times are changing, and the younger generations in the workforce are looking for something else other than job security and retirement when laying out their careers. Hence, it is becoming quite common for people to switch jobs during their professional careers. And in fact for me, I believe this change has more advantages than disadvantages to which I will summarize below. First, changing careers often would make you more marketable. The experience you would earn from the various job roles you will occupy to the industries that you will be a part of will expose you extensively to a wider skill set and open up new opportunities. Undoubtedly for me, this is the best way to gain fresh skills. Second, it will increase your network more effectively. Switching one job to another will help increase your professional circle. And this circle can be future colleagues, references, mentors, or business partners in the future. Lastly, a person who has a broad spectrum of experiences can bring a different perspective to the table. This can be absent from people who are used to doing their job routinely or are used to doing things the old way. Admittedly, frequent changes to careers can also have its disadvantage because some people would perceive it as being disloyal. And of course, it can be costly for some companies to train and hire new employees if the majority don't stick out for long. Overall, frequent changes are more advantageous especially if someone can prove that the reason for these changes is professional development and not for any damaging reasons or simply because they want to gain as much knowledge as they can then I feel like any employer would be foolish to not offer you a job.