In the past, it was unusual for most people to change careers more than once or twice. Now it is quite common for people to have had ten or more different jobs in their lifetimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a change?

With many changes in society, the number of jobs has increased. People nowadays are more open to new jobs compared to the past. While, in the past, people used to change careers just once or twice, now, with many more jobs and fields of work available, people try ten or more different jobs in their lifetimes. One advantage when people try different jobs is that they can find the right career by trying different fields. It is sometimes very difficult to find out what our potential is even at a later age. By trying different things, people can better understand themselves and develop their specialties. This will allow our society to have more experts in many different fields, allowing more professional jobs to be done, and in the long run, making a better economy. On the other hand, there are disadvantages from people changing careers many times. Companies have to spend time training new employees who might not stay on. There is the potential to waste time and money. As for individuals, they will have that much less time to specialize in their fields and, therefore, are more likely to achieve their personal goals much later. In addition, they might also have to invest a lot of time and money in finding what to do in their life. It is very crucial for each individual to understand what they are good at and what they would like to do in the future as soon as possible. Being stuck in an unsatisfactory job is very unfortunate, but having to change careers many times is also bad. Therefore, society needs to implement an education system that helps everyone find what they are best at.