In the past decade, we have developed new advances in medical services and it is believed by some that in another decade or so computers might take over a vast majority of the traditional medical doctor’s work. Discuss the pros and cons of this advancement and give your opinion about it.

In previous times, medical care has witnessed significant progress in terms of technological involvement in medicine. It is however been said by some people that most of the routine medical practitioner’s job may be overtaken by these machines in the nearest future. This essay will discuss how technology in the delivery of medical services has been a blessing by prolonging lives and how it may not have helped by impersonalizing doctor-patient relationship. Diverse advantages have been seen since the advent of technology in healthcare, most notable of which is the prolongation of human lives. Before the invention of some medical devices, it was noticed that patients who come down with some kinds of diseases especially heart conditions usually had little time to live from time of diagnosis. To illustrate, the cardiothoracic surgery unit of OAUTHC recently collaborated with some Israeli surgeons in replacing defective heart valves of some children using synthetic devices. The survival rate following this surgery was found to have increased to five years as compared to the previous two years without the use of manmade heart valves. Hence, it is clear that technology use in healthcare may be indispensable in achieving longevity. In contrast, the use of modern devices in medicine may have a deleterious effect on patient-doctor relationship by making it somewhat impersonal. This is because sometimes part of the healing process of a patient starts when they have contact with their doctor. For instance, the use of some health apps by some diabetics to monitor control of their blood glucose may reduce their clinic visits and thus reduce the frequency of contact with their physician. It is thus clear that the resultant reduced contact with the doctor may cause a strain on their relationship. To conclude, technology in delivering healthcare services has indeed done more harm than good. It is felt that though technology may be seen to take over some doctor’s work in the nearest future, some of these jobs requiring physical touch may not be completely taken over.