In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word.

In modern times, written text is losing significance to visual medium for mass communications. In this essay, I will illustrate the factors leading to this phenomenon and then elicit the value of words. There are compelling merits of image-based communications. The main advantage is that visual media such as photograph or video provides captured motions to the evidence seeking society. For instance, news audience can watch visual artifacts for an insight into the evermore complex geopolitical situation in the Middle East. In addition, organizations use meticulously crafted images to convince the consumers of their goods or services through advertisements on various channels such as TV, internet, theatre and so on; the devil is in the details. Furthermore, the current generation prefers to save time from reading and instead watches visual artifacts either online or on television. Therefore, image-based communication vindicates the needs of today’s audience. However, there are pros of written text over visual expressions. First of all, written words have utmost importance in legal medium such as agreements between parties, filing taxes, property ownership documents and so on. Moreover, educational institutions continue to use books or papers to educate the students. For example, engineering graduate candidates study materials consisting of a combination of scientific articles and various textbooks. Finally, words can be used to describe more details than visual communications. For instance, a novel usually provides plethora of information than an adopted movie based on it. Consequently, words have not lost their significance. In conclusion, I firmly believe that image-based communication has an edge overwritten text. Visual artifacts provide evidence, create consumer awareness and saves people’s time from reading. But, written word continues to be used in legal matters, educational institutes and provides abundant information.