In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate online without any face-to-face contact with other people. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advent of technology has brought a plethora of transitions in the society along with it. In the current scenario, it has been observed that people are able to perform their various tasks such as shopping, work and getting in touch with the close ones while sitting at homes. This essay puts limelight to various reasons explaining how this trend would be advantageous for the modern world in the impending paragraphs. To commence with, there are umpteen reasons behind the fact that online services are becoming a boon for people. Predominantly, with the help of this people are now able to save their efforts which they used to put while shopping. To substantiate, before technology people had to go to stores and stand in long queues to buy things, however, now they use their smartphones to order anything and get delivered the required material in minimal time. For instance, in many metro cities, online vegetable sellers are available nowadays, who deliver fresh vegetables as well as fruits to the doorsteps in hours. Therefore, it would not be wrong to say that going online has benefitted the general public a lot. Additionally, with the help of technology, employees are now able to work directly from their homes without meeting their clients personally. To explicate, since workers do not have to go to their workplaces, they save a huge amount of money which they used to spend on commuting to their offices. To cite an example, a recent report by Indian Labour Organisation had revealed that 60% of IT employees in the country get work from home facility quite frequently; enabling them to save the travelling money they used to spend earlier. Moreover, the internet has also made communication among people far easier than before. This is to say, as people now able to talk to any of their friends or family members from a distance, their relationships have become more robust. Thus, they do not have to go to their relative’s house in order to meet them and ask them how they are doing which in the end is also beneficial for them. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that as people are able to shop, work and communicate while sitting at their homes, their lives have become more easy and peaceful. However, in future, if individuals would start over utilizing these services, there would be unpredictable repercussions of this for sure.