In the last few decades, an increasing number of animal species have become endangered or have died out completely. It appears likely that this situation will continue. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to prevent it?

During the recent years, there has been a dramatic rise of animal species that are in danger or already extinct and it seems that the number will increase even more. This issue is due to different causes, but I believe we can act to avoid its worsening. In my opinion, the main reason for the increasing number of endangered species is climate change. In the last decades, humans have been emitting an enormous amount of greenhouse gases which make the Earth’s temperature rise up. This has severe consequences on natural ecosystems, where the climate and the weather conditions change leading to the loss of biodiversity. For example, with the temperature increase, polar bears can not find food for their sustainment, thus their life in their habitats is in danger. The same happens at animals living in forests, where trees are cut down for building purposes or for planting crops for human food. Another cause may be that there are still several markets that require hunting and killing animals for precious materials. For instance, elephants and rhinos are hunted for their horns and sharks are killed for their fins, sold at high price for the food industry. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that there are relevant solutions to stop animal extinction. First, humans should reduce gas emissions by modifying the industry, shifting to a more green economy and using green energy, such as biogas or wind energy. This measure may help to stop global warming, however some natural areas may need to be preserved by creating parks where the vegetation and the animal safety is controlled. Finally, in my opinion, hunting should be banned and when it is already, there should be an increase in controls because there are often illegal animal killings. To sum up, there are different problems concerning endangered animal species but I believe the main reason is climate change, thus humans should decrease their impact on Earth, by using green energies and preserving natural habitats.