How should we ensure that television is a positive influence in the life of children?

Because of the rapid growth of technology many parents are afraid that television can have a negative effect on children. Kids spend an enormous amount of time watching TV and frequently they do not realize how some TV programs change their behavior for the worse. Although, there are useful piece of advice that can unsure parents that television has only a positive effect on their children. Nowadays, children watch TV more frequently, because of it a child may not realize how much time he spent on watching TV. That is why it is better to control the time that child spent on watching several TV programs. For instance, modern television offers special applications that can keep track of how much time the child spent watching TV. By this application caring parents can set a time limit on TV and children would not be able to watch more than it necessary. Another way of protecting children is restricting access to some programs that are not allowed for adolescents and children because they contain violence and aggressive scenes. Frequently such programs are made for more mature viewers due to the fact that children may distinguish the real life from fictional. For instance, a popular horror film "A Nightmare on Elm Street" is known for it blood, scary and aggressive scenes. This film is just a fiction, but many children cannot understand it and because of this they will have nightmares and traumatized psyche. That is why parent should monitor what their children watch most of the time. In conclusion, there are lots of ways of protecting children from harms on television, that is why parents should take measures to defend their children from several violence and aggression.