In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society?

Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations. In today's developing world, the average life span has increased manifolds. Although this may sound pleasing to people whose loved ones are ageing, yet the risks triggered by such changes cannot be ignored. This essay will first look at the major concerns caused by increased life duration among the aged generation and then provide some viable measures that might address them. One prominent concern in terms of increased life span is excessive consumption and eventual scarcity of natural resources, including water, nutrients and oil. This means that for sustaining life on earth, the amount of natural resources is extremely limited. However, increased life span implies that more resources will be consumed; this consumption will put others at the risk of being devoid of the natural resources and will result in failure to address the needs of ever growing population. We stand witness that this impartial distribution has paved the way to war and bloodshed among nations to compete for natural resources; Soviet War between Russia and Afghanistan is one such example where lives were lost all in the name of acquiring Oil wells. All this is the result of disturbing life and death balance set by nature to meet the demands of life on earth. A possible solution to this worrying problem is to look for alternate sources of energy to sustain life on our planet. This means that we as responsible nations should engage all our resources and energy in investigation, research, discovery, education and utilization of alternate forms of energy and other naturally available resources. Utilization of solar power is a prime example of facilitating an increased number of people with least effect on nature. This helps in saving water and fuel through use of sunlight to harness electricity. Another feasible measure to address the issue of limited nutrients is to discourage wastage of food. A recent survey by Oxford university reported that the amount of food wasted per year is sufficient to feed one third of world's population for a year. To conclude, problems caused by increased average life expectancy rate, including limited resources to sustain life on earth, are extremely disturbing. However, through critical reasoning and implementation of renewable forms of energy and limited use of food we can stem the problems from their roots.