In the contemporary world, citizens are much more inclined toward unhealthy food such as burgers,

In the contemporary world, citizens are much more inclined toward unhealthy food such as burgers, pizzas, and many others instead of traditional food which is healthier. As result, they are suffering from lifestyle diseases like obesity, heart problems, diabetes, and others. Living a healthy lifestyle is the core responsibility of an individual rather than the government. Hence, I totally disagree with the strategy of levying higher taxes on such kinds of foods. In my composition, I would be discussing the alternative solutions for this issue. As we know, westernization has badly affected our eating habits. Also, due to the increased demand of junk foods, we can find more fast food outlets rather than traditional restaurants which in turn results in more and more consumption. However, imposing heavy taxes is not the right thing. Firstly, it can have adverse effects on businessmen and in long run it might impact the economy. For instance, with higher taxes various cafes & outlets like Mc Donalds, Dominos, KFC, and others will suffer huge losses. Secondly, this strategy will only target the middle and the lower income group. High income group people who are addicted with such kind of foods will continue to rely on it. Hence, in order to resolve health issues, the government can only promote a healthy lifestyle by imparting knowledge and also by removing taxes on healthy and cultural foods. For example, in my country, free ration schemes are being implemented to provide basic and healthy food. Also, they can promote local food chains like Haldirams, Sagar Ratna, etc. which are into authentic and healthy food. To conclude, I would like to highlight that in order to have a good and nutritious diet we should not rely on the government as it is our individual need and goal. Government can take steps such as promoting healthy foods. However, in the end it's our responsibility to lead a long and disease-free life.