In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case?

In this modern era of scientific advancement, agricultural technologies are reaching new heights. However, despite this tremendous development, farmers and agricultural workers seem to suffer from poverty and hunger wherein, many commit suicides, owing to their poor financial background, which does not allow them to pay their ever growing debt, or even afford to feed the mouths of the entire family. Firstly, the exploding population has put an enormous pressure on today’s farmers, forcing them to work to their bone in order to meet the growing demand for food crops. Consequently, this large scale farming leads to many agricultural workers from a lower economic background to apply for agricultural loans, which comes with a hefty interest rate that these poor people have a hard time paying back. In addition, the harsh and competitive business war between vendors and retail supermarkets results in needless lowering of prices of the crops, ultimately spelling disaster for these poor farmers who decide on skipping a meal or two, in an attempt to pay back the debt in a long run. Furthermore, the unpredictable climate can prove to be fatal for crops, negatively impacting the livelihood of individuals whose lives depends on the harvest. For instance, extensive global warming in India has delayed the monsoon as well as extended the summers countless times in the past, which drastically brings down the yield due to the death of the crops. As the farmers have nothing to sell, they have nothing to earn as a consequence. Therefore, these people have to burn through their measly savings, which is barely enough to survive, failing to satisfy the hunger entirely, in these dire situations where food prices skyrocket due to shortage, leading to further demise of these unfortunate workers. In a nutshell, robust innovations in the field of agriculture and life sciences fail to save the lives of these poverty-stricken farmers from the clutches of nasty debts, as well as unforeseen weather conditions, causing an infinite number of silent cries from these hungry people’s mouths go unheard every day, in one or the other corner of the world.