some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too be shared freely.

Access to information is considered as one of the most essential human’s rights, although there has been a concern about the issues related to privacy and safety. It is generally believed that information related to academic, research, and business should be available to the public. Some people argue that that such information is too valuable to be shared for free. In my vantage point, information should be provided for everyone if there are more benefits to it than the harm. On individual level, information related to academic and business achievement needs to be shared with the public to maintain a good reputation and gain trust from others. For example, an academic will publish their scientific paper in international journals, so that they will get a recognition from their peers. Individuals with significant contribution to their field or the society in general may be awarded with a Nobel Prize which will help them advance their career. In a broader sense, the public should be given an access to certain information for the sake of transparency and accountability. When there is a possibility of illicit activities inside a government institution, information must be disclosed. Since such case can result in a public distrust, information related to the on-going investigation may need to be shown to the public. This case can also happen because the issue cannot be solved internally, so a viable solution from an external party is deemed necessary. For instance, in Indonesia, a decade ago, a civil servant in the Audit Board of the Republic of Indonesia acted as whistleblower who revealed a corruption scandal in their institution. The whistleblower decided to raise the public awareness because there was no internal solution for the problem. However, it is inevitable that certain information should be kept a secret because it can be misused. The confidentiality of user’s data is a case on point. Companies are now facing a threat of data theft that will compromise their client’s privacy and safety. Confidential information of a person, business entity or government organization can be a target of cyber criminals. For example, in Indonesia, there was a theft who managed to breach the security system of a commercial bank and retrieve its clients’ financial data. They use the data to steal money. In conclusion, information should be available to the public if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. If the disclosure of certain information potentially results in data breach or other negative repercussions, then the information should be kept confidential.