In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is fact that in different parts of our planet children are brought up by giving motivation that they can reach their goals if they persist. There are many positives sides of giving such a message to young generation; however a balance should be kept by parents to avoid unforeseen consequences. Firstly, giving motivation is a good mindset to work harder to achieve success and to help them deal with difficulties in real life. In order to reach goals, they should increase their self-confidence, which leads them not to give up working hard on future aims. For example, in some countries, many youngsters commit suicide after losing something valuable because they feel that their futures are doomed and they cannot change nor do anything else if they try hard. From this point of view, encouraging children to work harder to achieve their goals can be justified. Secondly, children should be taught not only to be more self-confident or independent, but they should be taught to be creative which is clearly vital human skill that can be implemented during their adulthood. Having enough creativity, leads you to tackle down any difficulties without hardships. Turning to other sides of the argument, children may face many dilemmas, due to their over-confidence. When you are over-confident, you misjudge your values, opinions, beliefs or abilities and you have more confidence than you are supposed to assess the real situation. As a result, they keep wasting time concentrating in one thing or activity that they may never achieve anything rather than spending time on more worthwhile things. In the situation where they cannot achieve their aims, they will blame themselves and doubt their abilities. And this brings adults to irresponsibility of whatever they accomplish. In conclusion, some people say to children that if they try hard enough, certainly they will reach whatever they want. There are great number of advantages and drawbacks concerning this vision. Having self-confidence, being creative and learning to set a specific goal are some of positive outcomes, however, lack of appropriate limitations, discouragement might be a negative effect.