There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Music has been found to be an act of therapy for certain patients suffering from mental illness. Music can be divided into two: Traditional and International. Traditional Music can be said to be sounds linked to certain cultures or countries while International Music are mainstream, they flow with time and generations. Overtime, arguments have ensued over which aspect of music is most important. This essay will discuss the benefits of both and why both, Traditional and International Music are important. Music that are called traditional are those sounds or writings that connect directly to a certain culture. Most times, folks not of same culture or traditions have a hard time understanding another's. They help keep cultures alive over different generations or century. It would be so easy to forget where we come from if we do not have reminders. An example is the bible, it was created to enable Israelites remember God in all things. This is same with music, they help us remember how we got to this space and time. Another use of traditional music is the recent study by a group of Harvard Doctors, they selected a number of accident patients who were declared brain dead, and introduced Music Therapy as part of their healing process. They got a 45% improvement rate. Traditional Music help us keep our ancestors alive and ensure that we do not forget our roots. International Music are mainstream. They relate more to current situations and are more welcomed by the younger folks. They are in tune which the latest happening and certainly have a larger audience. An example would be the Ciara "Level Up " song that was played at a United Nations Meeting recently. it was done in order to connect more to the younger generations. In conclusion, both music type play an important albeit different roles.