In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving this message?

In many religions, it has been taught to the children at very young age that they can achieve everything if they push their limits. This essay will discuss the various benefits and demerits of this trend. On one hand, letting children understand at very young age that hard work is the way to achieve in life has many benefits. Firstly, it has been seen in adolescents that they have a clear motive in life because of the teachings provided in their culture that they have to work hard in order to be successful in life. Secondly, it is easier for the children to deal with difficult situations as they know that how much effort needs to put to overcome those tough circumstances. Lastly, such teaching help children to be more focused from very young age which helps them in achieving better results in school or college education. For instance: a recent article of Hindustan times states that 70 percent of the children who knew that hard work is the key to success has scored more marks in comparison with other students. On the other hand, although there are benefits of telling children that by putting efforts, anything can be achieved but there are some demerits of this message as well. To start with, it is not unknown that putting so much pressure of the children at very young age can lead to health issues. They can take extreme pressure on mind which can result the reverse effect. For example, a student has committed suicide when he was in 5th grade because of the extreme pressure being put by parents to put effort for his exams. In addition to this, such teachings can harm the childhood of the children where they are forced to try hard rather than enjoying their childhood time freely and without any pressure. In conclusion, it is known that in some cultures, children are being told to give efforts in order to achieve anything in life. This essay discussed that although there are many advantages of providing this teaching to children but, it has some drawbacks too. However, it is to understand that when would be the right time to teach your children about such teachings.