Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

Personally, I support the idea of using public transport than the personal transport. I once read a quotes that in the developing country, the pedestrians uses public transport to travel from where to where rather than personal transport in order to save the planet on less fuel consumption and reduce congestion on traffic. As for the railways, normally they used for traveling for long distance than short distance. They can take the people to do the daily life routine such as traveling from their home to their workplace or school or even leisure place for relaxation as I saw when I was a young boy in Thailand. In Thailand, there are too many roads that created by the real estate developers in order to divide their properties to increasee their beneficial uses. So, as of this scenario, when Thai people needed to travel, they will need to travel by roads rather than use the railways such as BTS for the sky-train or MRT as the metro train because the railways' can not covered the entire area of the capital city of Thailand which is Bangkok city. On the other hand, I went to the another huge city in Asia which is Tokyo and found out surprising fact that Japanese people traveled by their metro railways regularly for most of their daily life. Which could identified that Japan had lower poisonous air such as PM 2. 5 which is the critical topic in Thailand today, as well as more safety on the roads for the cyclist to travel by their unique transportation. Also, the traffic law could be more controllable since their are few drivers on the roads. To sum it all up, I am heavily support the idea of government spending more money developing the railways public transport that the roads in order to boost the economic growth of the country, reduce pollution emitted by internal combustion engine, as well as increase the healthy and less complex quality of life of the people that lived in that society.