In some countries, young people do not take care of their elderly relatives. Instead, they appoint trained professionals who take care of the elderly. Is it a positive or a negative trend according to you?

In the modern world, there has been an accelerating trend of people hiring skilled caretakers to look after senior citizens of the family. It is often argued by many that youth does not pay enough attention to their old family members therefore hire experienced caretakers to ensure their well-being. In this essay, I will discuss both the sides of the argument and give my opinion. It is observed that the elderly suffer from various mental and physical disorders which is why they need the help of others. It is believed that while caretakers can fulfil the needs of the old people efficiently, they fail to support them emotionally. Elderly hesitate to discuss their personal thoughts with these professionals which in turn, leave them feeling isolated and unwanted. For instance, the recent report of ‘The National Health Institution, ’ illustrates that 59 per cent of senior citizens in India undergo acute depression due to the underlying fact that they do not have a companion to share their feelings. Hence, family members can more effectively look after them. On the other hand, it is undeniable that money is one of the most significant elements in our lives. In addition, a heavy amount is being spent on the elderly’s necessities. In order to afford all these expenses, it is vital for adults of the family to do job which unwillingly forces them to appoint helpers for their old relatives. For example, an average of Rs. 15, 000 is required every month for my grandparents’ medicines and health check-ups which is high. Since both of my parents are working professionals, they comfortably bear the cost while managing other household expenses. Thus, sometimes it becomes necessary to hire qualified caretakers for old people to ensure they receive the proper care. In conclusion, undoubtedly, it is the responsibility of the youth to take care of their old family members however, there is no harm in appointing the attendants. In my opinion, hiring expert caretakers for the elderly is the best way to ensure that their needs and demands are getting satisfied so that the young people of the family can concentrate on their official tasks comprehensively.