In some countries young people are not only richer, but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are often less happy. What do you think are the reasons for this and what can be done to help?

It is true that young adults have improved their life's standard in recent years. Measures of health, safety and income are higher than ever before. However, the lack of happiness among those people is remarkable. This essay will pinpoint what could be the main reasons for this and suggest some ways to tackle this problem. Although young people have better life quality nowadays, they are less happy than before, and I believe the main reason for this is due to recent social issues. First, young workers have to deal with higher demands in their jobs and this situation is causing too much stress. This is because they have been pressured for results and, therefore, they have been working long hours. For example, it is common to see employees working ten to twelve hours per day and complaining about their lack of time. Second, youngers recently build weaker relationships than it used to be in the past. In other words, youngers nowadays have fewer friends and, as a result, they are prone to feel depressed and lonely. To tackle this problem, both companies and the individual could take some actions. Companies should restrict the number of extra hours young people work. If companies take this measure, workers will have more free time to spend with family and leisure activities, which probably will increase their sense of happiness. To illustrate, recent research has proved that happiness is directly associated with free time. Individuals should try to make good friends and invest in deeper relationships. Friends are crucial to increase humans' level of happiness and, therefore, it should be a priority in order to feel happier. To sum up, despite the fact that nowadays youngers are safer, healthier and richer, they are struggling to find happiness. The main reasons for this are a lack of time and strong relationships. Decreasing daily working time and searching for real friends are two possible ways to solve this issue.