in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting university studies. discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do it.

Nowadays it is a trend in some countries that the young people travel before they start the university studies. Travelling to other countries is not a barrier for the rich students as they have enough money to spend. There are many merits and demerits for young people who decide to do this. Firstly, students can fill the time gap between finishing high school and starting university studies. They do not have to simply sit at home. Secondly, even poor people can work after their high school and earn money for their higher studies so that there will not be any burden for their parents. Thirdly, working and travelling in foreign countries allows gaining knowledge about the culture, norms, and values of that country. Furthermore it increases our communication skill. More over students can find out the different courses and studies available in the country and they can choose the further studies according to their taste. Again working or travelling help people to face the realities of life and they will be prepared to manage the obstacles in their future life. In addition to this, work and travel make young people independent for their future university studies. As a result, they will become self-confident and it increases their self-esteem. On the contrary, there are some disadvantages too. Sometimes people will never return to their academic studies so that country will lose its scholars. Again young people may continue their work and they may lack their interest in studies. I think very few people only discontinue the studies as higher qualifications are needed for a good job. When we weigh both sides, the advantages are more.   From the above reasons, in my opinion, countries should encourage their young people to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.