In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Youngsters are encouraged to do work in a few countries or travel for one year between finishing school and starting higher education in universities. Although working before further studies in universities can give them work experience, it will also increase the gap. The main benefit of working or travelling between school and in pursuing higher education is work experience which they will get. As people go to the corporate world and there they get so many opportunities to get enough experience. For instance, in India, many people choose to work after 12th class and they enhance their experience first and then they go for further studies. So, a year can be very advantageous for a person to gain corporate experience. However, it will increase the gap if they will do work or travel for a year after completing high school. It's because working for a year will result in less concentration when they will start studying again in University. For example, in Singapore, many people are working after high school and this increased the year gap. So the time gap will be a disadvantage as they will not be able to concentrate on studying again. In conclusion, the younger generation is influenced to work or travel in some countries after the completion of high school and before starting education in University.