In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Music represents the blissful sound that has the ability to revive fractured souls, which is prevalent in people of all ages around the Earth. Younger generation, in some countries, is inclined towards modern types of music such as the Rap or the Hip-Hop. However, they could benefit if classical music is exposed to them either through listening or playing an instrument. In recent years, music has changed tremendously. To appeal to teenagers and young adults, the style and quality of music has transformed to remixing using computer technology. The musical instruments have been redesigned to be electric as well. This creates opportunity to explore music that has high beats, is loud, and refreshingly energetic. Younger generation is easily attracted to such types of music and hence classical music has taken a backseat. However, classical music is the foundation of all the modern conceptual music. Traditional musical instruments, as necessary equipment as do-re-mi of singing, vary a lot in different parts of the world. Many times, a musical instrument is an integral part of the culture. For example, the God Krishna of Indian Mythology is always portrayed with his trademark flute, while the culture of Ireland cannot be represented without their pied pipers. These authentic instruments offer music notes that cannot be recreated by modern electrical instruments. If the classical instruments are taught to children or teenagers, then the musical instruments will not be forgotten. In return, a possibility of inventing new tunes from the skills of talented young artists will be paramount. In conclusion, the charm of classical music cannot and will not be forgotten if younger generation gets introduced to it by knitting it with culture. Younger generation should be encouraged by interesting opportunities that harboring classical musical skills will bring, which in turn may give rise to a hybrid classical modern style of music.