In some countries there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

In this day and age the young tend to ignore listeninng to classical musc. While a variety of alternatives is one of the reasons, I think that it is important that the youung generation be motivated to become intrested in classical music creations. THERE ARE a range of causes behind such a tendency. Firstly, the young have access to a wide choice of different music performances, in different styles. In this regard, , it is a high likelihood that the young would prefer colourful shows instead of listening to classical performances. Secondly, they tend to follow preferences of their peers or influences such as celebrities, when it comes to a music choice. As a result, the youngsters are more likely to listen to pop music, attend rock concerts rather than classical ones/as it is a common choice. Not to mention the fact that understanding classical music often requires more effort and solid music educational background, compared to listening to pop melodies. Additionally, at live pop concerts, the young are liable to socialise and share emotions, which makes these performances more attractive for the young adults compared to the classical ones, which seem to be less engaging. Last but not least, the pop bands are much more promoted by the media in comparison to classical musicians, . Having said that, I would argue that the young public should be incentivized to listen to classical concerts and learn about musical heritage. Clearly, it can provide more insights in modern music which often stems from classical tunes. Secondly, it enriches them culturally and emotionally. Furthermore, classical music can bring even more and deeper pleasure and satisfaction, as old composers, unlike the majority of the modern musicians, were capable of translating their feelings into great melodies, being more focused on expression rather than on commercial success. To conclude, while new trends in music art seem to be more attractive for the young, it is important for them to become familiar with classical music as it provides fulfilling, pleasurable and culturally enriching experience.