The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

The trend of smoking has been developing rapidly among people across the world since the industrial revolution era, which enriched the consumer numbers vastly. It is believed based on scientifically proven that the smoking habit carries more shortcomings than benefits. However, people still keep it as quotidian practice until now. This issue might be caused by easiness to get the products so that a strong regulation to regulate them is needed. One of the main reasons for this harmful habit lasting is its accessibility to obtain the product. In my view, stores that sell cigarettes or even vape liquid scatter everywhere both online and offline. Furthermore, the age restriction for purchasing the products does not help either, as minimum supervision of the law within society. For example, any under-aged children in some countries are able to buy cigarettes without revealing their ID card in terms of age permission check. Seeing this case, there are some inhibitory actions the government, as the supreme ruler, can take to lessen the habit. The government ought to enact robust laws about product distribution following by adamant punishment for anyone who infringes it. Moreover, creating a broader smoke-free area can helpfully hinder smokers continue their habit. With strict regulation for smoke-free areas in public places and most buildings such as malls, libraries, downtown, and offices, finding a smoking spot will become more challenging. To conclude, the accessibility to get the goods in which is exacerbated by the failure of age restriction is why smoking habit still preserving until today. However, the government can set a strict law along with harsh punishment to tackle this issue.