In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Most people think weight is equavalent to health. But to their surprise gaining weight does not always mean one is healthy. Even though there is an association of weight with health but that is beyond gaining or losing weight. In many countries people eat in order to get fat. Because according to many cultures weight symbolizes their status. For example, the women in African tribes are often compelled to eat fat in order to gain weight. Consequently, the average weight in Africa is increasing but the extra weight is only harming their bodies by causing heart blockage, cholesterol accumulation in liver and many other complications. Again, in many countries people prefer fast foods more than home cooked foods. There are various factors responsible. One major reason is the availability of fast food chains. Moreover, having a busy schedule discourages people to cook their meals and makes them dependent on take-outs. These foods are always high in sodium and fats which is unhealthy. By consuming these unhealthy foods people gain weight but are always deprived of nutritions they need. furthermore, due to having busy schedule people are becoming more robotic and losing the interest in sports and exercises. Hence, they are gaining weight but their level of health and fitness is decreasing. In order to deal with increased average weight some measures could be taken such as introduction of sports clubs in offices and schools, organizing competitive events every month. Additionally, raising awareness regarding the gruesome effects of the take-outs and struggles of being overweight might discourage people to give up on unhealthy habits. To conclude, the issue of increasing average weight in some countries can be eradicated with the help of raising awareness and practising healthy habits.