Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily

In recent years due to low cost airline tickets, more people frequently travel by flight, Which caused high air traffic and resulted in high air pollution and noise. Some believe that government should impose high tax rate to reduce air traffic. I am strongly against such practice, This will impact frequent flyers and make less affordable for them. Firstly, the biggest problem with this approach is, it will adversely impact airline industry, in other words, due to high ticket prices people will stop traveling or they choose another cheap means of transportation rather than expensive flights. People with less income will not prefer to travel to destinations. The airline industry is already impacted due to the latest pandemic and travel restrictions. Further imposing tax will cause more unemployment. secondly, It will also impact the tourism industry, a daily lot of people fly around the world for vacations and they visit tourist places. A middle-income family plan holiday within a limited budget, consequently they will stop flying. Poor people will not able to visit places because of high flight fares. They would prefer to visit local places instead of taking their family for the long destination. This will impact other businesses around these industries. This will cost government sooner or later as high taxes from fewer companies. The total income is reduced. To conclude, Imposing high tax on airlines is not a solution, it may help to reduce pollution to a certain level. However, it cost the airline and tourist industry and they might ran out of business. People with linited budget will not able to fly for vacations and another purpose. To control pollution government should plan better way without impacting business.