In some countries the average weight of people is decreasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures should be taken to solve them?

Nowadays most people have a busy lifestyle, with a tight schedule which leaves them very limited time to keep fit or pay attention to the food they eat. These two factors, combined with the fact that foods which are genetically modified and full of substances detrimental to health are widespread in supermarkets inevitably lead to health issues, obesity and bad physical shape in general. On the one hand, overweight and obesity are common because of the low food quality. No one knows what consequences the consumption of genetically modified food may bring. Moreover, food products contain too many artificial substances such as harmful additives, flavor enhancers and feeders which keep consumers hungry and make them purchase more and more. This junk food is found everywhere and is easily available for people who are always in a hurry, unable to stop and read the labels. The only exception is when a health problem surfaces. On the other hand, keeping fit is not easy either. Not only are people busy, but they are also too tired, especially when they are middle-aged. In contrast, young people might be energetic but not disciplined enough. In both cases, motivation is of extreme importance since results require a few months of exercising. In conclusion, I am convinced that overweight and low levels of fitness are not just individual problems but problems of the states all over the world. Sadly, governments play a major role in these negative trends as they do not try to eradicate them. Rather, they allow sales of low quality foods in glossy wrappings. If these products were not on the shelves, people would not buy them. If citizens ate organic natural food, they would possess more energy and make efforts to get back into shape.