In some countries, some criminal trials are shown on the television, and the general public can watch them. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Changing needs of TV viewers have caused many media companies to broadcast criminal trials. In my opinion, this does more harm than good. On the one hand, there are two basic reasons why people might take advantage of watching these TV programs. In the first place, it familiarizes them with the law and legal procedures. Some people may not have an idea of what, in fact, is a trial and how it is held. So, by watching these trials, they experience how fair judgments are made based on eyewitnesses' convictions and law principles. Younger viewers can also learn moral lessons about the negative consequences of committing a crime. Seeing a murderer, for instance, being charged for, say, 30 years of prison is likely to deter youngsters from offences. However, I believe that the decided negatives of this outweigh the advantages. The main reason for this is ethical. Media companies have no right to reveal people's personal lives without their own permission. It is unlikely that criminals are asked for a permission to be shown on the television because they are offenders and have little right to object. This revelation is, perhaps, the violation of human rights. Last but not least, minor details of crime, which are often disclosed during trials, can be a valuable source of information for other criminals; in other words, once they watch them, they tend not to repeat mistakes previously made in their further actions. In conclusion, I think that the disadvantages of watching criminal trials on the TV, ethical considerations and grounds for further crime, are far greater than the advantages.