Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

Some people assert that development and fast growing of supermarkets in some regions, effects the local businesses and made them hard to survive therefore local communities are about to end. To some extent, I personally agree about the local stores, but I also agree the fast growth of supermarkets. Firstly, as population is growing day by day, the requirements of people is also increasing, as a result number of stores are growing rapidly. Secondly, I think there will not be any comparison between the supermarkets and local stores because some of the items which are not found in local stores can be found in supermarkets. And people can buy bulk quantity of goods with cheaper price, they can supply any type of goods because they are financially strong than local stores. However, I still support the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets because these can’t be placed every where. These supermarkets provides very good offers and attracts the people, and supermarkets can provide job opportunities for the local people. Though the people buy small things and vegetables in their nearby local stores, because for these small things people can’t go to the supermarkets. Another reason is local stores treat their customers with good relationship and they will be in touch with their loyal customers, so that they can know their needs and supply them. In this way local stores can survive. And this process is very hard and impossible for supermarkets. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages on existence of supermarkets for the local people. And it is difficult for local stores to compete with the supermarkets.