In some countries people think that smoking should be banned. Do you agree?

Smoking is prohibited in public places in many countries and It is certainly banned in my country. However, we can notice that our culture is still saturated with tobacco. Some typical examples of this are cinematography, various TV shows and literature. As a result, people are not afraid to smoke at all and suppose that it does not have any bad effect. Essentially, people argue a lot nowadays about whether it is right or wrong to put a ban on smoking. People who support a ban claim that it is an extremely harmful habit which can lead to very serious diseases, such as lung cancer, or considerably spoil someone’s health. Besides, I tend to agree that it is unfair for smokers to have an unhealthy influence on non-smokers by smoking near them. As far as I am concerned, when one breathes in this smoke, they become a second-hand smoker which can cause the same health problems as if they were real smokers. That is why if you smoke on the street, in a bar or on a train you violate the rights of other people to breathe fresh air without tobacco smoke. Nevertheless, not all people support the ban on smoking. Many smokers believe that they should decide for themselves what they want as we have equal rights and freedom. In addition, they say that tobacco is sold legally everywhere and they cannot work it out why they should not be allowed to smoke in some places. These people also think that the government is not working very hard to explain people how smoking affects their health. They maintain the idea that it is profitable for the government due to heavy taxes on tobacco which they get and owing to the fact that many people work in the tobacco industry. Personally, I think smoking should be banned in all public places, if the government provides smokers with some special legal places where they can do this comfortably without harming people around them.