in some countries people spend long hours at work. why does this happen? is it positive or negative development

It is widely observed that working time is increasingly extended in different parts of the world. While this essay attempts to shed some light on the reasons for such phenomenon, I believe this carries both positive and negative implications. . The underlying justification for overtime working stems from the desires for increased professional productivity. It is largely assumed that more time spent at the workplace is tantamount to more work being done. Higher volumes of workload being dealt with are likely to yield greater levels of job effectiveness. Another reason can be attributed to one’s aspirations to climb the corporate ladder. The proof that an employee is willing to stay for another few hours at work can be perceived as a key indicator of one’s serious commitment to the job. Given that dedication is a highly sought-after attribute in the eye of employers, spending extra time at the workplace might potentially be translated into increased promotion prospects that often come along with higher salaries and professional status. I acknowledge that the growing trend towards longer hours at work has its demerits but it also comes with its trade-offs. In terms of the advantages, this phenomenon is likely to maximize work efficiency. More focused stretches of work can be fulfilled, which will likely lead to better bottom line and rising prosperity for a company. On the other side of the equation, prolonging time at the workplace might trigger a decline in physical and mental well-being. It is possible that the extension of working time will leave workers increasingly drained after consecutive hours of working. Soon enough, their physical stamina will be undermined, along with a heightened sense of job dissatisfaction that will in turn provoke mental frustration and depression. To conclude, I am convinced that working overtime is primarily attributable to the demand for higher work efficiency and promotional aspirations. This trend is likely to produce both desirable and unwanted effects to the economy generally and to the workers specifically.