In some countries, people are increasingly becoming vegetarians. Do the advantages outweigh it’s disadvantages?

In a number of places around the earth, an increasing number of people are turning into vegetarianism. While there are some disadvantages of this in terms of health especially low intake of protein, this essay believes that the positive impact of vegetarianism on environment outweighs any of it’s drawback. Some people fear that vegetarian diet do not provide adequate amount of protein which is required by human body. It is a known well fact that animal meat is a source of protein and this is extremely useful in building a strong immunity. For example, Indian health Association recommends that everyone should consume 100gms of protein every day to sustain an optimal human health. However, there are other vegetarian source of protein like pulses and tofu are excellent alternatives and should be considered to eat instead. One of the evident benefits of plant-based diet is the fact it does not have adverse effects on the environment. Unlike meat-based diet, vegetarian food does not excessive resources and land to grow the food, and moreover, it releases less carbon footprints. For example, raising a bull would require 10000 gallons of water a week in comparison of growing a plant which would require only 10 gallons. Therefore, it is clear that there is more spending and ill- effects on raising a livestock animal than to grow plants I feel advantages of eating plant-based diet outweighs any of it’s disadvantages. In conclusion, many do not consider vegetarian diet do not provide sufficient protein, I believe the less harmful effects on environment outweighs any of it’s disadvantages.