In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In recent years, the number of residential property buyer has soared with an unmatched speed. In my opinion, this is a negative development and I will explain it in this essay. One of the key reasons why owning a property is preferred is due to the appreciation of the price in a short period. Consequently, more people can make big-money investing in houses. Everyone involved in the process makes money for example, the seller, the commission agent, municipal office, and also the buyer by reselling the property. However, there are potential risks here if financial institutes are involved. This will result in impacting the global economy if people default the loans. Also, this will create a virtual inflation scenario and increase burden on the people who genuinely need housing. Morevoer, another reason is that statistically many of the house buyers using bank loans are youngsters in their thirties or forties. They want to get over with the house ownership before their offspring is ready for college education. As a result, they could use house as mortgage for education loan or at least avoiding house rent payment along side college fees. Sense of belonging, and social status are also important reasons for owning a house. Some people consider rented house as stop-gap arrangement and strive to own a house so that they can live the way they want it. In some circles, match-making is challening if a groom could not afford his own house. This is leading to a stressful situation as people have to work to the commitment even their physique and psyche are affected. In conclusion, it can be comprehended that people want to own house for various reasons such as profit, better lifestyle, sense of ownership, or social obligation therefore property price is increasing. This trend would have a damaging impact on both economic growth and individual well-being. Personally, I think this is a negative development.