In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some nations, having a house is more essential for some individuals than renting a home. This is because it is cheaper to purchase a home and I believe it brings security and is considered beneficial for future investment. The main reason why owning a home is more suitable for some people is because it is cheaper. That is to say that nowadays, renting a property is considered to be expensive, therefore, some people prefer to take a mortgage and pay the same or less amount of money to return it. Eventually, they own the house, whereas, by renting people can’t own the property after a period of time. For example, a study conducted by The BBC revealed that 80% of residents in Cancun own a house because renting is double the price of owning. It is a positive situation due to the benefits that people might have, such as they are more secure and they can invest in their property. This is because if people rent, the landlord could kick them out at any moment, however, when they own their own home, there is no risk of losing it or anyone controlling them. Moreover, people who own a house are financially secured because after they finish paying their mortgage, they can save their own money and if they want, they could rent or sell this property at a higher price and profit from it. For instance, 55% of elderly people who own a house, after a certain age, they rent their house in order to profit and have a regular income monthly. In conclusion, some people prefer to own a house because it is cheaper than renting. I believe that owning a property makes people feel safer and financially stable in contrast to renting.