in some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? do you think this a a positive or negative situation?

In several places around the world, having a house is more crucial to people compared to renting. Personally, I would agree with this statement because of some reasons. If the amount of money needed is calculated, owning a house would be the best option. The reason behind this is because when you pay for a rent, it would be counted as per week/ month and year. On the other hand, when you are the owner of the house that you are living in, you would not have to pay rent and you would only pay once for as long as you need to stay in the remaining house. Another reason is because when you rent for a house, that property is not yours which makes you have to stick to their rules, for instance not being able to recolor the walls or installing kitchen cabinets. Moreover, these rules were made by the owners themselves and it may vary according to their rules. The situation where more people believed that owning a home is better than renting one might negatively affect the property market in a countr) For example, when someone has several properties instead of letting your assets sit there, it is better to rent them to people. However, if no one would rent them then there will be no income for the owner nor commission for the property agent. Not to mention that it would also put a lot of people in debt because not all people can afford a house whenever they want or need because owning a house needs a lot of preparation and capital. Furthermore, if a lot of people in a country are in debt, it will be hard for the country’s economy to grow. In conclusion, for those who are looking for a long-term place to live, buying a house would be the best solution while those who do not have the capital to do so can rent houses that might benefit the property market.