In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, in some countries, people think that buying a house is more important than renting it. I think, there are several reasons that driven people to own a property rather than to pay some money to the landlord. In light of this, some reasons may be reasonable but the others might be adverse people. I also believe that these circumstances not only beneficial but also drawbacks for some people. In my opinion, there might be at least three factors that making people prefer to own a property, in particular a house, to rent it. First, they may have sufficient income so that they can afford to buy a house. In other words, this type of people thinks that in the long run it might more beneficial for them to own a house. The other reason is that the mortgage rate in some countries tends to lower in recent years so that people can house with low interest and affordable installment, even for the middle-low income families. For instance, in Indonesia, the banks’ mortgage rates that went down dramatically between 2008 and 2013 boosted the home-owning credits in the country. In spite of these reasons, in my view, although this might be a positive situation, there are also some negative effects. The beneficial situation is mainly because people can obtain their own assets rather than paying expenses. As the result, they can reallocate their budget to other expenses to improve their lives’ quality, such as education. For instance, some families that already live in their own house tend to provide a better school for their children as opposed to them that live in a rent-house. However, a negative situation might be happened because of the high low-interest mortgage since people who have insufficient income may try asking the banks to provide loans for them. It can lead to another similar crisis like the subprime mortgage cases in the US and can bring down the economy of the countries. In conclusion, the development of people’s earnings and the ease of getting a loan, in my view, are the major factors that make people prefer buying a house to renting it from others. Even though it may bring positive impacts for the people, it can also be adverse if they can’t manage the risks from the increasing demand for mortgages.