Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society.

Compared to the past decade influence of media programs are very vital in our daily life as well as our decision making process. Most of the media programs currently pay attention to issues and disasters instead of growth. Few persons think it is dangerous to individuals and to the society and I totally agree with this point of view and I will explain why I reach to this view in the following essay. World is progressing too swiftly and without constructive improvement across all areas, it is too difficult to catch us with other citizens and societies around globe. Positive development is a long term process, and this includes improvement in infrastructure, education, science and other key areas but problems and emergencies are short term concerns. Once government and authorities divert their attention to disasters instead of positive development the growth of the country can be halted. A recent report from Unites Nations is clearly explaining the same scenario that many developing countries in African continent are only focused on short term crisis rather than long term growth and this is affecting their competitiveness against majority of other countries. Another important point to consider the financial interests of media companies because their major focus is to make financial gain rather than focus on the necessities of the societies. Cognitive development is a long term slow process and in the current world people are not interested on this, instead they are curious to know what happening today. So, newspapers, television and radio companies will not get viewers and subscribers if they start prompting long terms progressing plans because of this they automatically divert as per their spectators interests. For example in recent years many traditional television and news papers got closed and many new comers with no social values gain the market. They may divert everyone’s vision in to short term problems to gain their interests and this can damage everyone in a long run. Based on the arguments outlined above I strongly believe focusing only on issues and emergencies is harmful to everyone, instead media should focus more on positive development.