In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Owning a house is a sign of prosperity in the lives of many individuals. A white picket-fence house with a freshly mowed lawn and reliable car is typically the picturesque dream any worker hopes to achieve. However, in the modern world, despite skyrise apartments offering economical yet comfortable living spaces, the average joe continues to strive for the dream house. In my opinion, this is a negative belief that needs to be updated. There are many advantages to owning property. Many elders will tell you that real estate is the best investment you can ever make, a market that will never die. Yet, the housing market collapses throughout history stands as evidence against this dated theory. People put undue pressure on a piece of land to be a symbol of prestige and bragging rights. Due to this, although the housing prices currently are outrageous, people still take up huge loans and would rather live a life of paying incredulous interest rates than admit to living in a comfort apartment. I have witnessed the effect of this phenomenon on my best friend as well. Despite having a well-paying job and a decent apartment, his parents are stout believers that unless you have a house to call your own, you will be the talk of the town as a disappointing son. And this is for somebody with a job in the STEM field. The housing market takes advantage of this very dream and ancient values that families hold. But my question is, is this still a dream worth having or rather an obligation that has become a nightmare? In conclusion, the stigma for renting is a preposterous one that is holding the youth back from actually investing their hard-earned money into other sectors. There is nothing wrong with owning a house if you have the means for it but making it a strict necessity is a harmful goal to have.