In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or plays and performances in theater. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend more classical music plays and performances?

It is not a common scene for young generations to attend classical plays or musicals. A number of reasons can be pointed out for this fact and in my opinion, young people should be motivated to enjoy this form of art. A range of factors can be the answer to why youngsters do not go to classical performances on a regular basis. First to mention is that classical art forms are oftentimes not suitable for young people's taste. Since they are still rather immature in terms of social experiences, it would be a challenge for them to fully interpret and resonate with the message behind classical music and plays. Additionally, as tickets to classical performances are usually really costly, young people who are mostly financially unstable would either hardly be able to afford them or have to work overtime to save up for the price, both of which would be too much of a strain on their already hectic lifestyle. Nevertheless, I strongly support the viewpoint that youth should be encouraged to enjoy classical art in general. Firstly, as most young people these days are prone to high stress levels due to schoolwork and complicated social situations, the mental advantages of classical art that has been scientifically proven would equip them with much longer attention span and a composed attitude, which is of great use for them in the future. On the other hand, since young people are still in the process of personal character development, enjoying classical music and plays with deep meanings will assist them in building a critical and thoughtful approach to real-life problems. In conclusion, while plenty factors may cause young generations to not appreciate classical forms of art, I stand by the opinion that they should be inspired to.