In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

It is argued by a certain section of society that in few developing countries, only a small number of young adult attends to traditional music concerts or play it. This is mainly because learning it requires lot of time and effort and unavailability of guidance. I believe that only those should be motivated who really are into it. One evident reason why adolescents nowadays are not attending concerts or playing because it is time-consuming. In other words, not only learning classical music is difficult but also it requires years of practice to excel in it. For example, my friend, who plays Jazz music now, was interested in both Jazz and traditional music. Since it requires a plethora of hard work and time, he chose to learn the former. Another reason for this action would be lack of proper guidance. If young generation are guided with experienced tutors, they would show interest and more teenagers could be seen in this field in near future. On the other hand, young people should be encouraged provided that they show keen interest in learning old music. Not until they have enthusiasm in learning it, it would be of no use to teaching them because it requires dedication and commitment to learn. For instance, from childhood, I was never into music so nobody persuaded me to learn it. However, my sister was enthusiastic in learning traditional music; therefore, my father encouraged her to enrol in the classes and participate in competitions. If young people want to learn it, teachers and parents should motivate and guide them to achieve their dreams. In conclusion, it appears to me that there are several reasons why teenagers are not into classical music. However, proper guidance and encouragement would aid them to attain interest and show enthusiasm in that field.