In some countries, older people are encouraged to work longer and avoid retirement. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

Elderly people living in some nations are told not retire and retain their current job. While older people become financially stable when continuing to work, I believe that older individuals could jeopardise their psychiatric well being and could put their health at risk. One of the benefits of individuals aged 45-60 to avoid withdrawal is that they become economically stable. Senior-aged individuals are able to receive a consistent income from their employers and live a better quality of life as they are able to fund for necessities such as private healthcare and nutritious food. From this, people aged 45 to 60 avoid relying on financial assistance from the Welfare State, therefore the Government spending on supporting the elderly is reduced. For example, a study conducted by the University of Nottingham in 2019 found that prolonging the employment contract of individuals over the age of 60 combats financial hardship experienced by senior-aged individuals by 70 in the UK. However, I believe that by extending their retirement age could affect their mental health due to feeling mentally anguished from the high workload in their workplace. The drawbacks associated with senior-aged people avoiding retirement is that it could jeopardise their wellbeing and making them more prone to cardiovascular diseases. Since geriatrics have a weaker immune system than their younger employees making them more susceptible to the early onset of cardiovascular diseases such as thrombosis as their body is unable to resist the illness. By allowing older workers to retire hinders the prevalence of detrimental illnesses among geriatrics and boosts the public health of individuals over 60. For instance, The Guardian Newspaper stated in 2002 that the retirement of older employees living in the UK could help combat cardiovascular illnesses by one third. I believe that allowing the pullout of senior-aged workers boosted productivity in companies. To conclude, although motivating employees over 60 to continue working could make them economically independent, however, working beyond the retirement age could hinder their psychiatric wellbeing and wellbeing.