In some countries, it is usual for young people who graduate from high school to spend a year working or travelling before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

In recent decades, the question of whether people should have access to knowledge disseminated at ease from videos, computers, films and so forth or from books has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although technological devices seem to be an attractive choice, in my opinion, reading books to acquire knowledge supposes to bring further advantages. It can be said that the benefits in education brought about by technology cannot be denied. Technology brings great convenience to users in approaching education. For example, with little doubt the tiny devices such as mobile phones, iPad… people can easily stay informed of current affairs with few restrictions of time and space. Users can download reference materials from online sources which are reasonably priced. This approach is very beneficial for students who are on a budget and make them well-prepared for the course work. Moreover, getting instruction across to students with the assistance of lively sounds, vivid images… can nurture their passion to learn. That’s the reason why teachers often apply technological devices to complement existing teaching methods and make the lecture more engaging. On the other hand, books are useful in many ways. One of the main positive aspects of the books is the enhanced concentration on the reading material. When reading a book, the reader can be more focused on the content without being interrupted by technology-related factors. For example, online readers are easily distracted by social networking sites or online movies and games. Instead of focusing 100 percent on reading the news, many people constantly check Facebook or watch short clips on YouTube, which negatively affects their reading comprehension. Furthermore, spending too much time reading the knowledge on the Internet can make people more vulnerable to health problems such as impaired eyesight, tiredness… Reading books regularly is the best way to encourage analytical thinking skills. Video viewers absorb material in a passive way and readers acquire education in the reverse way: written words. Readers have to use their critical thinking and creativity to understand the content. Therefore, reading books is more likely to nurture creative and independent thinking than technological versions. In conclusion, with the convincing argument mentioned above, both technology and traditional books are required for getting full data. Books are more suitable for the fundamental knowledge and internet for the most recent one. Although computers and the internet are getting more and more popular, books are going to keep expanding our education for years to come.