In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

As a lot more importance is placed on parenthood and children’s upbringing nowadays, , finding optimal ways to educate children from a very young age is a key in developing those children to their full potential. It is often controversial whether formal education should be implemented on 4 to 7-year-old children. While this essay disagrees that formal education should be applied to4-year-old children, it will discuss both points of view. Firstly, formal education will limit the innate capacity of discovery and creativity in four-year-old children. As playing has a proven role in the time of discovering in a four-year-old, sitting still in class in long durations of time could diminish their ability to play outside. Children who are playful and cannot manage to stay focused in class may receive undeserved punishment and criticisms from teachers who are not trained to understand the psychology of a child. New research from Harvard Medical School published in NEJM reports that children who go to school early may be misdiagnosed for ADHD, which is not pleasurable for parents and juniors. Besides, 4-year-old children are understandably not as emotionally ready as their 7-year-old peers, therefore lacking in self-control. Going to school early, for some children, may help develop a kind of anxiety disorder called “school refusal”, where children get frightened when separated from parents. Also, a number of children have ADHD and autism, which not only needs special treatment but also a particular kind of education. A research in 2015 by Stanford University researchers has shown that Danish juniors who go to school later develop better self-control than those who go to school early. However, going to school early may help children develop a set of good manners and adaptation skills that their parents may find difficult to teach. Children will learn to stay disciplined and accept others’ differences at a very young age when staying in class. They also develop resilience in tackling tasks and playing. As a result, they will become independent and determined in doing things. Having a set of basic well-mannered characteristics encourages children to go far. As schools are a model for society, children will learn great lessons that they may not learn in their homes. For example, children who have troubled family backgrounds, who lack parental care and special lessons to express their emotions freely and develop stable relationships, can benefit greatly from a school setting In addition, some children have developed extraordinary academic abilities. Going to school early offers an opportunity to train in information retention and in prodigious talents at an early age. With a professional teacher, children may find interest in learning new things. Many scientists or genius have developed in this way thanks to early discoveries from their parents. While the disadvantages of formal education in early ages may limit children’s capacity to play and their creativity, some still argue that it should be taken at this age for a number of children have developed academic ability at early age (to maximize the potential of a children who have developed academic ability early). Hence, it is crucial to consider what option works best for each individual at a given age.