In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In some countries, people can watch criminal trials on television. This action has both advantages and disadvantages.  Yet I believe its educational meaning far outweighs its disadvantages. On the one hand, showing criminal trails on television can educate the public. By watching the criminals being sentenced, people can learn the consequence of committing a crime, therefore giving up the idea of breaking the law. Take China for example, the government produced a series of documentaries recording the trials of some government officials who have taken bribes.  It turns out as a success as the crime rate for authorities decreased significantly.  Thus, showing criminal trails plays an important role in discouraging crimes. On the other hand, open trails can also infringe the privacy of the offender and the victim as well as their family. For the victims, some people will search for their private information out of curiosity, especially young women engaged in sexual assault. Also, the family of the criminal has to bear heavy mental pressure and denouncement from the public through the rest of their life. From this perspective, open trails may impinge innocent people. However,  I believe the educational meaning is far more important than the potential infringement of privacy. Because if we inform the mass public of the existence of some inhumane crimes, we may prevent them from happening again. Comparing the value of communal good with individual privacy,  I think the former is more worth trying. To recapitulate,  I agree to show criminal trails to the public, since it can prevent potential crimes even with the cost of the privacy of a few people.