In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion?

The growth of the fast food industry has affected people’s eating habits and their health significantly. Many have developed diseases such as diabetes, obesity, high cholesterol and cardiac problems due to consumption of excessive amount of this kind of food. In my opinion, imposing a higher tax on junk food will have positive outcomes; however, this alone will not be enough to battle with this situation. Admittedly, governments are obligated to treat individuals who suffer from diet related illness and imposing higher taxes for fast food will help economies to improve. For instance, millions of dollars are spent to provide healthcare services to people who have above-mentioned diseases. Hence, if junk food becomes more expensive, the amount of illness people suffer from will decrease accordingly and governments will be able to spend their funding on other necessary services. It should also be asserted that creating awareness about the effects of fast foods is essential. Teenagers are the main customers of restaurants where processed food is served and they should be taught about the long-term consequences of junk food consumption. For example, introducing nutrition classes into their school curriculum might be a successful method of teaching them devastating health effects on eating excessive amount of unhealthy food. What’s more, broadcasting health related adverts on TV and social media will help governments to reach broader audience. To conclude, from my perspective, adding classes to school hours in which young people can be educated about eating healthy, showing advertisements on television and social media applications constantly, along with imposing a higher tax to fast food can help governments to tackle diseases caused by eating such foods in daily basis.