In some countries a few people earn high salaries

Many people argue that the government should regulate salaries and limit the income employees can earn while others believe that earning high salaries is good for the nation. In my view, the pay scale of an employee should be based on one's knowledge and his position, but the government should also ensure that higher managements do not utilise their benefits and increase their salaries. This essay is going to discuss both the sides and support them with relevant examples. Firstly, some of the higher management and CEO's use their influence to increase their salaries while underpaying low-level employees. It is a problem because an organization depends on all of its staff to function properly. For example, in a software company, it is the developers that produce the end product, not a CEO, and if these employees are not encouraged through a proper hike in salaries their productivity might decrease. Ultimately, this not only affects the company but also the nation due to a decrease in the taxes paid by the companies and sometimes also in terms of deferred loans. If the authorities can control the power of CEO's then there may not be this problem of failing companies. On the other hand, an employee's salary should be based on his expertise and also his commitment to the company. This is because a CEO and higher management are responsible to formulate plans that can help the company's growth. For example, the CEO's of many companies spend most of their day (more than 10 hours) in the office while employees spend only 8 hours. A well-paid CEO might ensure the growth of an organization, thus benefitting a country by an increase in employment ad taxes paid. To conclude, paying the higher management can provide the advantage of increased employment and taxes. However, in my view, the government should also ensure that the management does not take advantage of this.